By keeping the CRS (Central Reservation System) up-to-date, you will assure you rinformation is accurate, there are no double-bookings, and inventory is always correct. You can automate your updates. There are five types of updates:
1) Part Update - Only availability information changed since the last Upload was successfully accomplished is sent to the CRS during a Part Update. This keeps your local booking database synchronized with the CRS. You can do a Part Update by choosing "Update Internet" from the BookingCenter menu or the Home Screen.
2) Inventory Update - This uploads ALL your bookings since you started using BookingCenter. All bookings regardless of the date will be sent to the CRS. This can be done by pressing the button on the Parameters | Internet Configurations screen called "Update Availability".
3) Full Update - When your images, marketing messages, or Company Information changes, BookingCenter sends these new files to the CRS and to all the Global Booking Partners that list your property so that current policies, rates, images, etc. are used to represent your property. Expect the Full Upload to take between 1 and 5 minutes, depending upon the sizes of each of your files.
4) Image Update - An image upload replaces all the images that BookingCenter uses to represent you on the Global Booking Network. If you change even one image, you need to perform an Image Update and all images will be replaced.
5) Automatic Update - The Parameters | Internet Configurations area of your BookingCenter software allows you to automatically update every hour, 3, 6, 12, 24, or at startup. By setting the box to "automatically update", your computer will automatically connect to keep the CRS - keeping your management computer and the CRS "synchronized". Remember that the computer that is maintaining the datafile needs to be setup as the computer that connects to the Internet. In a networked environment, this is the Server computer, and is set by clicking the button "Network Manager" on the computer that will act as the Network Manager.
'Live Sync' - 'Live Sync' keeps your BookingCenter Desktop PMS synced after each new, modified, or cancelled reservation. 'Live Sync' is recommended only for those users who have a broadband Internet connection such as DSL, ISDN, or cable modem. By choosing this option from your Internet Configuration screen, after each reservation change, BookingCenter automatically updates the CRS and all in the Global Booking Partners with the current availability - assuring up-to-the-second availability synchronization between your local operation and the CRS & Global Booking Network.
It is still recommended to use the 'automated update' with Live Sync, set at one or three hour intervals. If you are using the Member's Area to track booking details, make sure to perform a 'Full Update' once a day to upload ALL information about the day's bookings and status changes to the CRS. By doing this, your remote managers can view specific booking and guest details from the day.
We have prepared a web page where each type is clearly explained here.